In A Scrape–GPP Street Team Crusade #44

(Yay! I finally was able to upload the GPP image!)

Well, I’m really enjoying my scraping this month.  I often scrape my backgrounds, but with Michelle Ward’s challenge I’ve tried some new approaches as well.

I made 2 ATC backgrounds scraping a thin layer of several paints, then I used a Plaid rubber paint scraper with white paint.

I used a K&Company border to scrape paint through and create a thick pattern.  I then used the border itself on a  scraped ATC background.

Above is the border I used.  Below is the paper I created by scraping paint through it.

Below is the ATC with the rubber scraped background and the painted border on the bottom.

The other ATC I added papers also scraped with paint and cut up.  Details were added with Scribbles paint (no brushes!) and some confetti.

I then found a great place mat in a store going out of business.  It has this open pattern that I could scrape paint through thickly.

These are 2 different versions of scrapings through the place mat.  I love the thickness! Still haven’t found something to do with these papers…it will come though.

Then I created a collage using scraped papers and commercially printed ones.  The background was made with a mask created with a square punch.

…And another collage with a scraped background and photos and magazine picture.

THEN I made another ATC background scraping paint through an alphabet template and then adding scrabble letters.  I hope I was able to capture the thickness of the scraped letters:

And on and on…it’s hard to stop once I’ve started.  Needless to say I’ve had fun this month!  Below are some more photos of papers I’ve created  and haven’t yet used.  TFL!

13 Comments

Filed under Acrylic painting, ATC, challenge

13 responses to “In A Scrape–GPP Street Team Crusade #44

  1. Gail, bravo for all this great work, plus the successful GPP graphic upload! Love that one with the scrolly mask. And that placemat is a fab stencil. Good eye! Thanks for sharing all this scraping with the team.

  2. Wow you have been superbusy ! Love the stencils you used. Your art looks great !

  3. Wow…. great work! I love the variety of your pieces. YES, I can see the thickness! I love how you just kept going!!!! That was just how I was….

    I especially love the colours of the first atc.

  4. Isn’t this technique so much fun! I can’t seem to stop. Great job on so many experiments. Thanks for sharing your creative adventure.

  5. Looks great. Thanks for all of the photos of your process. I loved the curly stencil. And the yellow and red paper that you scraped. I need to go do this!

  6. Wow, such a variety of good work. The piece made with the placemat is ingenius. I have some die-cut scrapbook paper I have to try that with. -Kim

  7. Fabulous! That placemat made the coolest stencil ever! Thanks for sharing – your work is such great inspiration.
    Cindi

  8. TJ

    WOW! All the work is beautiful, but the placemat is seriously cool. What a marvelous texture from that… happy creations from germany, tj

  9. Great pages! I like the page you did with the border and the place mat – stencil.

  10. Your pieces are fabulous, Gail. I love the variety you have created using the different stencils.

  11. fabricfan

    I like the stensils and the placemat, you have created a wonderful variety of papers.

  12. Wohoo! Love that first border stencil, the colours you’ve used look stunning.

  13. Awesome scraping girl! Love that first stencil and how use used it – well done!

Leave a Reply

