Where she leads…

This week the Three Muses challenge is to use maps.  It was such a synchronous moment as I was just in the process of working on a journal page with a map.  This map is quite important to me…I just signed up to walk in the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer and the map shows the start and end points in NYC: Randalls Island and Pier 84.

I am walking this year because my sister asked.  She is a breast cancer survivor.  At 36 years old she was diagnosed and through a series of grueling events, she was extremely lucky.  Lucky because they found not only the first type of cell, but a second type that was a fast growing aggressive cell. Her doctor instructed her that if she still (!) had any living female relatives they should immediately have mammograms.  It was a bad time for all, but again, luck was with her and she is now healthy and no one else has been diagnosed.  I know this is familiar territory for many out there.

Last week my sister contacted me to see if I wanted to join her in the walk…she’s never walked before, nor have I.  She decided that after many have walked for her, it was her turn.  Well, as little girls, she being older by 2 years, I followed her everywhere.  And now it is time for us to walk again.  The journal page is about how important this is for me to do and how overwhelmed I feel at the same time.  It is a big commitment…I must raise $1,800.00 (US).  If there is anyone out there inclined to help me out….please consider a donation…I hate the act of fundraising, but unless I ask, I will not receive and unless I raise the funds I cannot walk.   Thank you for looking and for your support.

I am including a link here to my Avon Walk page. I know there is a more elegant way of doing this, I just don’t know it!

http://info.avonfoundation.org/site/TR/Walk/NewYork?px=5530774&pg=personal&fr_id=1970&et=3qJ_rqZQRB42Uf8ediR-QQ..&s_tafId=438073

9 Comments

Filed under challenge, Visual Journal

9 responses to “Where she leads…

  1. This is brilliant…and I’m so happy your sister is well now. It’s a great thing you are doing….bravo!!! LynnF

  2. I’m so pleased your sister’s health is now good, and the walk, well yes you must follow honey! How exciting tho. I hope you get to train together… Gosh think how fit you’re going to be.
    ps if the lotto comes in this week I promise a big donation!

  3. What an inspiring story and what a beautiful journal piece, especially the photo of you and your sister. How serendipitous that you were working on a map theme when our challenge popped up. I am so glad to hear that your sister is in better health now and that, so far, no-one else in your family has shown any signs of the dreaded cancer. Good luck with your walk. Hopefully, we will hear more about it in the not too distant future.

  4. Bev

    A moving story, Ali. I’m so glad your story had a happy ending, and good luck with the walk. By the way, you posted in my apology comment instead of with the art entry. You might want to repost it there, as some people may not see it otherwise. Hugs (and thanks for your kind comments).

  5. taluula

    I can see from your journal page that you look up to your sister and so of course it’s natural for you to follow where she leads. A lovely page, and a very heart warming story with a happy ending and I so hope you get to do that walk.

  6. Sandy

    Gosh Gail this is again fabulous.
    Your background work is absolutely unique.
    Love this entry again.

  7. This is such a wonderful map- so full of inspiration. Quite a story and my best to you and your sister on the walk!

  8. What a story, but a happy end!! Good luck with the walk! And nice piece of art work!

  9. A beautiful piece and an inspiring story to go with it. Don’t you love it when synchronicity manifests?

Leave a Reply

