Three Muses & Theme Thursday

This week the Three Muses challenge had a theme of “a nice cup of tea” and Theme Thursday invited us to create a 2×4.  Here is my 2×4 tea time.

This past week I have been struggling to “kick start” my art.  Everything feels a bit forced…including this piece.  I did have fun making it.  I started out yesterday creating the teapot with collage and tissue paper.  Today I shrunk it down to fit on a 2×4 and completed the card.  As I said, fun, but I had to push myself all the way to finally posting.  Creative blocks are rare for me, but I do get them and it is an awful restless feeling that I can’t find a way to satisfy my need to create–no media seems right, images fail, etc.  I was feeling pressure this week not having posted and at some point was considering not continuing with the blog.  I opted for using the fact of that pressure and the challenges to just make art…reminding myself there will be days (weeks? months?) like this and it is ok.  It is all part of the process.

Thank you for stopping by!

13 Comments

Filed under challenge, collage art

13 responses to “Three Muses & Theme Thursday

  1. love this! what a great tea pot!!!

  2. Hi there! Thanks for finding my quilt and for your kind words! I love your teapot, it makes me smile. I read your post and for what it’s worth 🙂 I think you’ve got the right idea – just keep making art. Do you know that line in Finding Nemo, where Dory says “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming, what do we do, we swim, swim, swim…” That’s what I do when I get stuck, try to figure out how to keep swimming even if I have no idea where I’m going! Cheers, Sharon

    • allmimsey

      Yes, I do recall Finding Nemo, great inspiration for these moments. Thanks so much for visiting, reading and for your words of support.

  3. Bev

    I’m liking your smiling teapot, Alli. I hate when my muse goes on vacation. I find a visit to some of the great blogs I have bookmarked will eventually strike a spark and get me off and running again. If that fails Somerset Studios is sure to have a magazine that’ll do it!!

  4. Gorgeous colors, Ali. I think all of us get that same set of blahs every now and then. Sometimes just pushing through it helps. Produce. It might not be up to the best, but it is movement. I hear that it’s easier to turn a car if it’s moving even if it is going in the wrong way. Am I rambling?

  5. I hope you continue with your blog and your art because your work is so good. I love your whimsical teapot (especially the teeth)! The piece is so creative and clever. Even if you create new art intermittently it is worthwhile to keep the channel open. Everyone loses his or her creative energy once in a while. I find that messing about with a piece of art or even just checking on other blogs immediately puts me in a happier place!!

    Thanks so much for joining in the challenge. I hope to see you back whenever you have the time and the urge!!

    Cheers, Marie aka Ozstuff.

  6. Sandy

    Oh wow this is fun.
    Very great painting.

  7. What a funny piece! I love your tea pot – it must be related to a certain smiling cat… About your creativity block: I’m sure it will get easier and easier to make things just by making things – don’t let any self criticism or other mental obstacles be on your way. Have fun!

  8. johanna

    there are these muse-less times and i think it is ok so… not a nice feeling, but i think everybody knows it. and for me these challenges are helpful in the times my own creative flow is lacking… then i at least do “something” and that gets me going…

    like your “chesire-grinning” teapot!!

  9. johanna

    oh, i think the grinning cat spells “cheshire”?

  10. taluula

    Well, I for one am glad you persisted because this is such fun. I love it and your teapot does remind me of the Cheshire Cat.

  11. thought I should drop by and see what you have been up to…quite a bit, I see. I like your Cheshire cat teapot. I noticed that Sunday Postcards also have a tea theme for this week. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

