Mail Art

My last entry was about creating art from mail….a few people called it mail art, I hadn’t thought of it that way.  Meanwhile, this year everyone wanted gift cards.  I find it takes some of the fun out of buying gifts for people, but I also want to not disappoint, so gift cards it was.  To make it more fun for me I decided to make some real mail art.  I’ve never done this before and am keeping my fingers crossed that everything actually arrives!

This is one, the front.  After I scanned it, I used gesso to “white” out areas for the address and return address.  I had a moment of rethinking loosing some of my design by the gesso, but had intended to from the beginning and so just pushed ahead and it really had a nice effect. Here is the back:

Here are 2 others:

3 Comments

Filed under challenge

3 responses to “Mail Art

  1. Wow – this is stunning and a lovely way to send tokens

    Thanks for joining the Lotstodo Challenge – have a wonderful Christmas hope to see you in the New Year x Hilda

  2. sam21ski

    WOW – Fantastic

    Thanks for playing along with Lotstodo this week – Sam xxx

  3. Your art is amazing. I’ve been doing Zentangles for about 3 months now.
    I love it.

Leave a Reply

