No Art

I’ve been struggling with getting to my artwork…no that’s not fully accurate. I’ve begun several larger projects and I did take some photos to track the progression.  I just find myself putting off posting anything about the projects and images…now I’ve even lost track of where I saved some of the images.  I’m not sure if the resistance is about the projects themselves…several have had to take a back seat to pressing obligations, some I just haven’t had the time to work on.  OR, is it just about sharing things in their less-than-finished state.  Showing my messy process, artwork in it’s unfinished state that may never be finished, or may change radically.  Ultimately, I suppose I am talking about judgement.  How will I be judged? Yet that was what this blog was to be about, charting my progress, process, and opening up to feedback.

So what are the projects?  The most pressing one is my niece’s tallis (prayer shawl) for her bat mitzvah in October.  This is what has pushed several others off.  I began to weave one, and quickly realized my loom and my skills were not up to snuff!  Then, one of Mimsey’s last acts of destruction was to break the loom itself! So, plan b was to paint/dye silk and create.  Also something I’ve never done before…I do that a lot, decide to make something, then figure out how to.  I am moving along in that pretty well, and am pleased with the separate pieces, but need to dive into putting it together, and FAST!  On the back burner is a small altar in Mimsey’s memory…I actually have images of progress:

mimsshrine1 mimsshrine3a mimsshrine3

It’s far from finished, but here it is.  The other “on the back burner” is a larger painting I began, and stopped.

I realize I need to honor my process–here as I develop my blog, and in my artwork.  I may have real things pressing, I may be avoiding (love those challenges!), and that’s what it is for now.  Too many words today.  So it goes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

